You currently viewing the 2021 - 2022 Academic Catalog/Student Handbook. The current catalog is located here.

Tuition, Fees and Parking

Tuition Fee Basis

Forsyth Tech receives funds from local, state and federal sources. North Carolina law (General Statute 115D) establishes the community college system’s tuition and fees and the charges are subject to change without notice. Tuition charges are for credit hours enrolled, and the tuition rate per credit hour applies to all regularly enrolled students.

In-State Tuition:

$76.00 per semester hour

Out-of-State Tuition:

$268.00 per semester hour

Tuition and Fees for Credit Students

All tuition and fees are due and payable at the Cashier’s Office. The following methods of payment are available:

  1. In person at the Cashier’s Office (2nd Floor), Allman Center, Main Campus - Limited payment options and times are available at the Grady Swisher Center, Mazie Woodruff Center, Northwest Forsyth Center, The Transportation Center, and the Stokes County Center.
  2. Nelnet Automatic Payment Plan and Full Payment Option Set up payment plan or full pay current semester online. See the blue payment icon on our website home page or access through Techlink by selecting My Forsyth Tech.

Note: Methods 1 and 2 may be subject to limited operation times during registration.

Students may pay by cash, certified checks, cashier’s checks or Discover, Visa, and MasterCard (credit/debit cards). Personal checks will only be accepted with a numbered, photo Identification Card (example: a valid driver’s license). Starter or counter will not be accepted.  Please note: Cash is only accepted at limited locations. You may call the centers for more information.

No person may attend classes unless the registration procedure has been completed, all tuition and fees paid and all debts to the college settled. Students enrolled for 12 credit hours are considered full-time. Students will be charged per credit hour up to 16 credit hours.


Hours taken















Normal tuition rates apply to courses taken in the Learning Center. Supply fees are set to meet instructional needs in certain types of courses. Some programs (credit) require a pre-admission physical examination that involves additional cost to the student.

Residency Determination at Forsyth Tech

In 2013, the North Carolina General Assembly (SB 402) instructed the educational entities in North Carolina to work collaboratively to create a centralized process for determining residency for the purpose of tuition and administration of state financial aid. These entities included the University of North Carolina General Administration (UNCGA), the North Carolina Community College System (NCCCS), the North Carolina Independent Colleges and Universities (NCICU), and the North Carolina State Education Assistance Authority (NCSEAA).

As a result of the legislative directive, College Foundation, Inc. (CFI) was selected to develop and administer the statewide Residency Determination Service.

Forsyth Tech implemented the Residency Determination Service (RDS) on February 6, 2017.    All individuals applying to Forsyth Tech after February 6, 2017 will be required to complete the online residency determination prior to applying to the college.  It is recommended that applicants complete the residency determination well in advance of the semester they wish to start.  Upon completion of the residency determination, students will be issued a Residency Certification Number (RCN) which will be utilized at all colleges in NC.

Forsyth Tech will continue to work with students who have business sponsorships, are using military benefits or other exceptions allowed by the state.  All other residency determinations will be made by CFI and not Forsyth Tech.

The Residency Determination Service will provide separate processes to reach a residency classification. Most students will only be required to complete the Initial Consideration process. The Reconsideration and Appeal processes are for those students who experience a change in circumstances (Reconsideration) or who have not had a change in status and believe their residency classification is incorrect (appeal).

All students, parents, faculty, staff, and constituents of the North Carolina Community College System should refer to the Residency website at  for more current details regarding the North Carolina Residency Determination Service, processes and required residency guidelines.


State law and other State Board of Community Colleges regulations (G. S. 115D-5, 23 NCAC 2D.0202, "Curriculum Tuition Waivers"; 23 NCAC 2D.0203, "Extension Programs Extension Registration Fee Waivers."), provide for the waiver of tuition and registration fees to certain groups of students.  FTCC observes this law and waives the needed tuition/fees when the appropriate documentation is provided at registration/payment.

Student Fees

Student Activity Fee

All program students are charged $35 per semester/term (Fall & Spring only) for a student activity fee. When students pay this fee, they automatically become members of Forsyth Tech’s Student Government Association. Though called an “activity fee,” these funds are used to support student clubs and social activities, student publications and student government expenses. For a more detailed list of the expenses covered by these fees, see the Student Life section of this catalog. This fee is not refundable.

Lab Fees

Some selected courses charge a lab fee for supplies, software and materials. These fees range from $15 to $190.

Technology Fee

All program students are required to pay a technology fee each semester/term. The fee is $30 for students enrolled in one to 11 credit hours and $48 for students enrolled in 12 or more credit hours.

Books and Supplies

The cost for textbooks and supplies is the responsibility of the student, and these items may be purchased at the Forsyth Tech Bookstore (lower level), Technology and Student Services Building, Main Campus. There are also other locations: Northwest Forsyth Center, Transportation, and Strickland Center, that cater to specific programs based there. The cost of books and supplies varies from program to program each semester. Students may wish to attend the first class before purchasing texts and materials. Books may be purchased online

Digital Content/Electronic Text Fee

Select classes also have fees that allow online access to course materials. In an effort to protect students and to ensure their best interests, the U.S. Department of Education published 34CFR668.161-167 that requires colleges to provide students the ability to opt-out of course fees associated with books and online access to course material(s). Students will have until the seventh day from the start of class to opt-out if choosing to purchase their access through a different source.


The cost for uniforms and other special apparel is the responsibility of the student, and the initial cost of these items varies for certain programs. Students should ask their department chairperson for details on these costs.

Other Fees

No laboratory breakage or property damage fees will be charged to students. However, in case of breakage or damage due to gross negligence or maliciousness, a student will be expected to reimburse the College.

Graduation Fee

Curriculum students do not pay a graduation fee. Adult High School and HSED students pay a $20 graduation fee for each diploma and/or certificate. This fee is not refundable.

Transcript Fee

A $3 fee is charged for each transcript requested. If purchased electronically, there are additional processing fees.

Proficiency Exam Fee

A student may take a proficiency exam for a given course only once in a 12-month period. A Request for Proficiency Exam Form [located in the dean’s office(s)] must be completed and a $15 to $20 nonrefundable fee is charged for each proficiency exam.


There is an academic assessment for students desiring admission to a health technology program.  A $65 fee is charged per test.

Refund Guidelines

Program tuition and applicable fees can be considered for a refund. Tuition and fee refunds for program classes are subject to the following requirements:

  • A 100 percent refund may be made if students officially withdraw prior to the first day of the semester as noted in the academic calendar. If Forsyth Tech cancels a course, the portion of tuition paid for the canceled course will be refunded in full.
  • A 75 percent refund shall be made if the student officially withdraws from the class prior to or on the 10 percent point (census date) of the class.  These dates for your individual class can be found at
  • Students passing proficiency examinations for courses they have registered and paid for are eligible for tuition refunds if the course is dropped prior to the semester or prior to the 10 percent point (census date) of the class after the semester starts.
  • Tuition refunds are not transferable to other individuals.
  • Tuition cannot be held from one semester to a future semester.

Accident Insurance

Accident insurance covering the hour’s students are in school, on field trips or participating in student activities is provided to all full-time and part-time students. Student insurance is furnished by Forsyth Tech as a service to students, but it is not meant to replace students’ personal coverage.

Liability Insurance for Health Students

All health students must purchase annual liability insurance before engaging in lab or clinical practice. The cost for the insurance varies according to the credit program and insurance carrier. Liability insurance fees are not prorated. Annual liability insurance coverage runs from fall semester up to the next fall semester, for health students who enter or re-enter during a fall semester. For health students who enter or re-enter during a spring semester, the annual liability insurance coverage runs from spring semester up to the next spring semester. This fee is not refundable.


Visitors are welcome on the campus of Forsyth Tech. Campus signs indicate designated visitor parking areas. Any visitor receiving a ticket while parked in a designated visitor parking area should return it to the person or office visited. Otherwise, parking fines should be paid at any of the cashiering sites.

CAPS fee (College Access, Parking and Security (CAPS) Fee)
$25 per semester for curriculum classes
$5 per occupational extension class taken (some exceptions do apply)
Once the fee is paid a student may receive one free decal per fiscal year. Additional decals may be purchased for an additional $25. This fee is not refundable. Parking permits are valid from July 1 to August 31 the following year.