Tuition Fee Basis

Forsyth Tech receives funds from local, state, and federal sources. North Carolina law (General Statute 115D) establishes the community college system’s tuition and fees, and the charges are subject to change without notice. Tuition charges are for credit hours enrolled, and the tuition rate per credit hour applies to all regularly enrolled students.

  • In-State Tuition: $76.00 per semester hour
  • Out-of-State Tuition: $268.00 per semester hour


Tuition and Fees for Credit Students

All tuition and fees are due and payable at the Cashier’s Office or online. The following methods of payment are available:

  • In person at the Cashier’s Office on the 2nd Floor of the Allman Center on Main Campus
  • Full pay online through your MyForysthTech account under Student Finance
  • Nelnet Automatic Payment Plan (Payment Plan not available summer semester): Set up a payment plan or full pay current semester online via MyForsythTech. See the blue payment icon on our website home page.

Note: These methods may be subject to limited operation times during registration.

Students may pay by cash, certified checks, cashier’s checks, or VISA, MasterCard, and Discover (credit/debit cards). Personal checks will only be accepted with a numbered, photo identification card (i.e., a valid driver’s license). Starter or counter will not be accepted. 

Please note: Cash and credit card payments are accepted at limited locations.  Call the centers for more information.

No person may attend classes unless the registration procedure has been completed, all tuition and fees have been paid, and all debts to the college have been settled.

Students enrolled for 12 credit hours are considered full-time. Students will be charged per credit hour up to 16 credit hours.



Hours taken















Normal tuition rates apply to courses taken in the Learning Center. Supply fees are set to meet instructional needs in certain types of courses. Some programs (credit) require a pre-admission physical examination that involves additional cost to the student.

Residency Determination at Forsyth Tech

Under North Carolina law, each person must be classified as a resident or nonresident for tuition purposes. North Carolina law (General Statute 116-143.1) requires that to qualify as an in-state student for tuition purposes, a person must have established legal residence (domicile) in North Carolina and maintained that legal residence for at least 12 months immediately before enrollment to be considered for classification as a North Carolina resident.

Forsyth Tech implemented the Residency Determination Service (RDS) on February 6, 2017. All individuals applying to Forsyth Tech after February 6, 2017, will be required to complete the online residency determination before applying to the college.  It is recommended that applicants complete the residency determination well before the semester they wish to start.  Upon completion of the residency determination, students will be issued a Residency Certification Number (RCN), which will be utilized at all colleges in NC.

The Residency Determination Service will provide separate processes to reach a residency classification. Most students will only be required to complete the Initial Consideration process. The Reconsideration and Appeal processes are for those students who experience a change in circumstances (Reconsideration) or who have not had a change in status and believe their residency classification is incorrect (appeal).

All students, parents, faculty, staff, and constituents of the North Carolina Community College System should refer to the Residency website at for more current details regarding the North Carolina Residency Determination Service, processes, and required residency guidelines.

If your residency status changes from what is on file with the college (including a reclassification or appeal), you must notify the college. This includes if you lose or abandon your North Carolina residency while enrolled. To notify us of any changes in your residency status, by contacting Student Care at

Tuition Waivers

State law and other State Board of Community Colleges regulations (G. S. 115D-5, 23 NCAC 2D.0202, "Curriculum Tuition Waivers"; 23 NCAC 2D.0203, "Extension Programs Extension Registration Fee Waivers."), provide for the waiver of tuition and registration fees to certain groups of students.  Forsyth Tech observes this law and waives the needed tuition/fees when the appropriate documentation is provided at registration/payment.

Student Fees

Books and Supplies

The cost for textbooks and supplies is the responsibility of the student, and these items may be purchased at the Forsyth Tech Bookstore on the lower level of the Technology Building on Main Campus. There is also a bookstore located at the Northwest Forsyth Center to cater to specific programs based there.  The cost of books and supplies varies from program to program each semester. Students may wish to attend the first class before purchasing texts and materials. Books may be purchased online at

Campus Access, Parking, and Security Fee (CAPS)

The CAPS fee, once paid, provides students with one parking decal per fiscal year. Additional decals can be purchased for $25 from the Cashier’s Office. All program students are charged $25 per term.  Students taking continuing education classes are charged $5 per class.

Visitors are welcome on the campus of Forsyth Tech. Campus signs indicate designated visitor parking areas. Any visitor receiving a ticket while parked in a designated visitor parking area should return it to the person or office visited. Otherwise, parking fines should be paid at the cashier office or over the phone by calling 336-734-7210.

Digital Content/Electronic Text Fee

Select classes also have fees that allow online access to course materials. To protect students and to ensure their best interests, the U.S. Department of Education published 34CFR668.161-167 which requires colleges to provide students the ability to opt out of course fees associated with books and online access to course material(s). Students will have until the seventh day from the start of class to opt-out if choosing to purchase their access through a different source.

Graduation Fee

Curriculum students do not pay a graduation fee. Adult High School and HSED students pay a $10 non-refundable graduation fee for each diploma and/or certificate.

Lab Fees

Some selected courses charge a lab fee for supplies, software, and materials. These fees range from $15 to $200.

Proficiency Exam Fee

A student may take a proficiency exam for a given course only once in a 12-month period. A Request for Proficiency Exam Form, located in the deans’ offices, must be completed. A $20 nonrefundable fee is charged for each proficiency exam.

Student Activity Fee

All program students are charged $35 per fall term, $35 per spring term, and $17.50 per summer term for a student activity fee. When students pay this fee, they automatically become members of Forsyth Tech’s Student Government Association. These funds are used to support student clubs, social activities, student publications, and student government expenses. For a more detailed list of the expenses covered by these fees, see the Student Life section of this catalog. This fee is not refundable.

Student Success Fee

All program students are charged $10 per term for a student success fee.  This fee supports administrative and graduation ceremony costs, including student regalia, and other student support initiatives. This fee is not refundable.


There is an academic assessment for students desiring admission to a health technology program.  The TEAS exam can be taken up to three times in a 12-month period. A $65 nonrefundable fee is charged per test.

Technology Fee

All program students are required to pay a technology fee each semester/term. The fee is $35 for students enrolled in 1-8 credit hours and $48 for students enrolled in 9 or more credit hours.


The cost of uniforms and other special apparel is the responsibility of the student, and the initial cost of these items varies for certain programs. Students should ask their department chair for details on these costs.

Other Fees

No laboratory breakage or property damage fees will be charged to students. However, in case of breakage or damage due to gross negligence or maliciousness, a student will be expected to reimburse the College.

Refund Guidelines

To request a tuition fee refund, you must officially withdraw from a class by submitting a Course Drop Request (for degree-seeking or special credit programs) or Request for Refund form (if registered for a continuing education course). There are three methods for a refund. 1. Bankmobile (Set up a vibe account or direct deposit) 2. If fees are paid through credit card, the refund will be post back to your card: 3. If you are under the age of 18, you will receive a paper check.

·       A 100% refund may be given if the student officially withdraws before the first day of a specific course. If Forsyth Tech cancels a course, any portion of tuition that the student paid for the canceled course will be refunded in full.

·       A 75% refund may be given if the student officially withdraws from the course(s) before or on the official census date of the section. Please visit Course Schedules and search for your specific section to find the census date.

·       Dropping on or after the first day of class will result in a 25% tuition refund penalty.

·       No refunds will be given to students who drop a section after the census date of the section.

Please Note: If a course contains the pre-fix of SEF, the above refund policy does not apply.  You may receive a full tuition fee refund by officially withdrawing from the course one working day (24 hours) before the first class meets. Also, Continuing Education courses that are online, follow a Course Drop Date instead of the Census Date.

Additional Information regarding this policy:

·       Student activity fees, Malpractice Insurance, and CAPS fees will be refunded when courses are canceled, and students are not registered in any other course. If you drop all classes before the beginning of the semester the activity fee will automatically be refunded.

  • Students passing proficiency exams for courses they have registered and paid for are not eligible for tuition refunds.
  • Tuition refunds are not transferable to other individuals.
  • Late tuition refund requests will not be considered.
  • Tuition cannot be held from one semester to a future semester.
  • Where a student, having paid the required tuition for a semester, dies during that semester (before or on the last day of examinations of the college the student was attending), all tuition and fees for that semester may be refunded to the estate of the deceased.

It is very important that you ask questions, examine your schedule carefully, and take responsibility for your schedule!

  • Check the campus location where your classes are offered- be sure it is where you want to be.
  • If you schedule classes on more than one campus– make sure you have time between classes to travel between campuses.
  • If you need to drop and and during the schedule adjustment period, you must do so in one registration session. That is the only way your new class and your old class (if the number of credit hours is the same) will not result in you owing the additional money.
  • Please make sure to ask questions and carefully examine your schedule. Failing to assume responsibility for your schedule could result in unwanted financial penalties.

Important Notes:

  • Do not sign up for more classes than needed with the intent to drop some after attending the first day of class.
  • Refund questions can be addressed to the Cashier’s Office at Main Campus or by calling (336)734-7210.
  • Forsyth Tech delivers your refund with BankMobile Disbursements, a technology solution, powered by BMTX, Inc. If you are new to this service, you may have questions. For more information visit the BankMobile Disbursements website.

Military Tuition Refund

Upon request of the student, each college shall grant a full refund of tuition and fees to military reserve and National Guard personnel called to active duty or active-duty personnel who have received temporary or permanent reassignments as a result of military operations taking place outside the state of North Carolina that make it impossible for them to complete their course requirements.

The college refund policy is established by state legislative action and therefore, is subject to change without prior notice to students.

Detailed NC Community Colleges refund policy can be found at

Accident Insurance

Accident insurance covering the hours students are in school, on field trips, or participating in student activities is provided to all full-time and part-time students. Student insurance is furnished by Forsyth Tech as a service to students, but it is not meant to replace students’ personal coverage.

Liability Insurance for Health Students

All health students must purchase annual liability insurance before engaging in lab or clinical practice. The cost of the insurance varies according to the credit program and insurance carrier. Liability insurance fees are not prorated. Annual liability insurance coverage runs from the fall semester up to the next fall semester, for health students who enter or re-enter during a fall semester. For health students who enter or re-enter during a spring semester, the annual liability insurance coverage runs from the spring semester up to the next spring semester. This fee is not refundable.


Visitors are welcome on the campus of Forsyth Tech. Campus signs indicate designated visitor parking areas. Any visitor receiving a ticket while parked in a designated visitor parking area should return it to the person or office visited. Otherwise, parking fines should be paid at any of the cashiering sites.

The CAPS (College Access, Parking, and Security) fee, once paid, will provide students with one (1) parking decal per fiscal year.  Additional decals may be purchased for $25 at the Cashier’s Office. For more information about parking, visit

Sponsored Student Procedures

Sponsored students must complete this procedure each semester.  Please note that if the sponsor does not pay, then the studnet will be responsible for the charges on their account.

Sponsored students (those having an agency pay their tuition) must follow these procedures:

  • Register for classes through the normal registration process
  • Bring authorization to the Business Office on Main Campus for Curriculum classes or West campus for Continuing Education classes or verify that a copy has been sent to the Business Office by the sponsor
  • Curriculum-sponsored students must come by the Cashier's Office on Main Campus to transfer charges; this is not an automatic process and must be completed by the payment deadline or classes will be dropped
  • Students cannot have an outstanding financial obligation to the College
  • If there are any schedule changes, the student must return to the Business Office to clear their account balance. Classes will be purged if there is any remaining balance.
  • If the student decides to drop a class or classes, then they must drop the class(es) online via before the 10% point of class (census date).
  • If the College cancels a class, then the student will be refunded 100% of the class fee.

For questions about Curriculum or Continuing Education sponsored students, email Tonya Atkins at or call 336-734-7537.

Business Sponsored Student Procedures

Pursuant to N.C.G.S § 115D-39(a), North Carolina law provides a special benefit to employers choosing to pay the full cost of an eligible student/employee's community college tuition.  The employer is granted the in-state tuition rate, even when the student/employee does not meet the general requirements for in-state tuition.  The law requires the student/employee to work at the employer's North Carolina business location.  The burden of proof is on the student/employee to establish that the business is a legitimate North Carolina business approved by the North Carolina Department of the Secretary of State. 

Beginning with the 2016 fall semester, Forsyth Tech will require the following to be processed as a business-sponsored student:

  • Request for the in-state rate must be on company letterhead
  • A copy of the employee's pay stub
  • The completed company sponsorship form.  Stop by the Cashier's Office, Admissions, or the Records Office to obtain a copy.